Scholarship Winners Recognize Local Educators

Monday, May 13, 2013

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union recently honored 5 area youth with $5000 in College Scholarships for the 2013-14 school year. Each recipient completed a written application and created a project to improve their community, which was judged by a scholarship committee made up of 9 individuals. In addition each winner nominated an educator they believe had made a lasting impression on their life. Dakotaland paid tribute to those five teachers with a $200 cash award to use in their classroom as they deemed suitable.

The following individuals were recognized as an "educator making a difference". Scholarship winner, Amy Shan of Madison, SD selected Mr. Bill Thurow, a recently retired math teacher at Madison High School. Emma Smith of Huron, SD chose Mr. Larry Wendt, a science teacher at Huron High School. Kaylee Vander Wal of Volga, SD nominated Mrs. Paulette Newman, a recently retired math teacher at Sioux Valley Middle School. Jessie Hendricks, a home school student of Brookings, SD designated her mother, Mrs. Julie Hendricks, as someone who made a major impact on her educational life. Sabrena Schmidt of Huron, SD picked Ms. Vanya Munce, an 8th grade math teacher at Huron Middle School.

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative with locations in Huron, DeSmet, Redfield, Madison, Volga, Brookings and Woonsocket. With 26,000 members and $225 million in assets, Dakotaland continues to be locally owned and operated offering a full-line of services to its membership since 1935.


Categories: 2013


Leave a Reply:

Your Name:  
Your Email: