Scholarship Winners Recognize Local Educators

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Dakotaland Federal Credit Union recently honored 8 area youth with $8000 in College Scholarships for the 2014-15 school year. Each recipient completed a written application, which was judged by a scholarship committee made up of 10 individuals. In addition, each winner nominated an educator they believe had made a lasting impression on their life. Dakotaland paid tribute to those eight teachers with a $200 cash award to use in their classroom as they deemed suitable.

The following individuals were recognized as an “educator making a difference”. Scholarship winner, Jessica Erion of Brookings, SD selected Mr. Richard Ganci, an English teacher at Brookings High School. Benjamin Halbkat of Huron, SD chose Dr. Larry Peterson, a band director at Huron High School. Jordanne Howe of Redfield, SD nominated Mr. Blake Olson, a science teacher at Redfield High School. Tyler Kleinsasser of Huron, SD designated Mr. Larry Wendt a science teacher at Huron High School. Hunter Leighton of Volga, SD picked Ms. Natalie Madsen, a family & consumer sciences teacher at Sioux Valley High School. Johnathan Linke of Woonsocket, SD highlighted Mr. Craig Lieber, an English teacher at Woonsocket High School. Logan Strasburg of Volga, SD selected Mrs. Kelli Buisker, an English teacher at Sioux Valley High School. Lastly, Kaylee VanderWal of Volga, SD nominated Ms. Karen Janssen, a science and math teacher at Sioux Valley High School.

Categories: 2015


Leave a Reply:

Your Name:  
Your Email: